The winners of Meiningers Deutscher Sektpreis 2021 are presented by Christian Wolf and Sascha Speicher
The winners of Meiningers Deutscher Sektpreis 2021 are presented by Christian Wolf and Sascha Speicher

Meiningers Deutscher Sektpreis 2021

German sparkling wines of the year 2021 awarded // Griesel Sekt wins award for the best "sparkling wine collection" for the first time

For the seventh time, Meiningers Deutscher Sektpreis (German Sparkling Wine Award) honours the best German sparkling wines from traditional bottle fermentation. More and more German wine producers are dedicating themselves to the supreme discipline of sparkling wine production, and the qualities tasted greatly impressed the expert jury.

German sparkling wine from traditional bottle fermentation is enjoying increasing popularity and recognition. In the past, sparkling wines from the well-known regions of France, Italy or Spain were often chosen, but nowadays the right sparkling wine for almost every occasion can be found on the lists of domestic sparkling wine producers.

On three tasting days, the expert jury tasted over 500 sparkling wines sent in by 230 sparkling wine producers. In the morning, all sparkling wines were first tasted individually and without knowledge of the producer and evaluated on the basis of the international 100-point scheme. In the afternoon, the six sparkling wines with the best scores in each category were compared directly to select the winners.

In the category of Riesling sparkling wines, this year's winner is Sekthaus Krack from Deidesheim in the Palatinate with its single vineyard sparking wine 2015 Langenmorgen Riesling extra brut.

1st place Burgunder Sekte
1st place Burgunder Sekte

The category of Prestige Burgundy sparkling wines (at least 36 months of yeast ageing) is dominated this year by the most successful sparkling wine producer of the past years: all three places on the podium this year go to the Raumland Sekthaus. First place to the 2012 XII Triumvirat Grande Cuvée brut.

1st place Rosé Sekt
1st place Rosé Sekt

The victory in the Sortenvielfalt (various grape varieties) category goes to a grape variety more at home in Austria: the 2019 Grüner Veltliner brut from Weingut Hammel in Kirchheim (Pfalz) wins first place.

1st place trockene Sekte (dry)
1st place trockene Sekte (dry)

Griesel Sekt, which has shown a more than impressive development in the past years since its foundation in 2013, wins the award "Sparkling Wine Collection of the Year" for the first time, closely followed by Sekthaus Raumland. Both sparkling wine producers received an average of over 92 points for their sparkling wines.

Christian Wolf, Director Degustation
Christian Wolf, Director Degustation

German sparkling wine from traditional bottle fermentation is one of the flagships of German winegrowers and sparkling wine producers today. What we were able to taste this year clearly shows that the handle can happily go to Germany in search of an excellent sparkling wine. Domestic producers manage to offer a stylistic variety par excellence, regardless of whether it is the Prestige Burgundy sparkling wine, the Rosé sparkling wine or the primary fruity Riesling sparkling wine.

Christian Wolf
Director Degustation

All the award-winning sparkling wines as well as further information on the seventh Meiningers Deutscher Sektpreis 2021 can be found on the following pages. The first-place winners as well as the top 100 of the best German sparkling wines from traditional bottle fermentation will be presented by Meiningers Weinwelt in the next issue, which will be published in mid-September.

The winners of Meiningers Deutscher Sektpreis are once again presented online by Director Degustation Christian Wolf and Sascha Speicher, editor-in-chief of meiningers sommelier magazine (German language):

Alle Weine anzeigen // Show all wines

Die Sieger von Meiningers Deutscher Sektpreis 2021 werden präsentiert von Christian Wolf und Sascha Speicher
Die Sieger von Meiningers Deutscher Sektpreis 2021 werden präsentiert von Christian Wolf und Sascha Speicher

Meiningers Deutscher Sektpreis 2021

Sekte des Jahres 2021 ausgezeichnet // Griesel Sekt gewinnt zum ersten Mal die Sektkollektion des Jahres

Zum siebten Mal zeichnet Meiningers Deutscher Sektpreis die besten deutschen Sekte aus traditioneller Flaschengärung aus. Immer mehr deutsche Weinerzeuger widmen sich der Königsdisziplin der Sektherstellung, die verkosteten Qualitäten haben die Expertenjury sehr beeindruckt.

Deutscher Sekt aus traditioneller Flaschengärung erfreut sich zunehmender Beliebtheit und Anerkennung. Ging früher der Griff oft zu Schaumweinen aus den bekannten Regionen aus Frankreich, Italien oder Spanien, findet sich heutzutage auf den Listen der heimischen Sekterzeuger für nahezu jeden Anlass der richtige Sekt.

An drei Verkostungstagen verkostete die Expertenjury über 500 Sekte, die von 230 Sekterzeugern eingeschickt wurden. Am Vormittag wurden zunächst alle Sekte einzeln und ohne Kenntnis des Erzeugers verkostet und auf Basis des internationalen 100-Punkte-Schemas bewertet. Am Nachmittag galt es aus den sechs punktbesten Sekten jeder Kategorie die Sieger im direkten Vergleich zu küren.

In der Kategorie der Riesling Sekte gewinnt in diesem Jahr das Sekthaus Krack aus Deidesheim in der Pfalz mit dem Lagensekt 2015 Langenmorgen Riesling extra brut.

1. Platz Burgunder Sekte
1. Platz Burgunder Sekte

Die Kategorie der Prestige Burgunder Sekte (mindestens 36 Monate Hefelager) wird in diesem Jahr dominiert vom erfolgreichsten Sekterzeuger der vergangenen Jahre: alle drei Plätze auf dem Podium gehen in diesem Jahr an das Sekthaus Raumland. Der erste Platz an den 2012 XII Triumvirat Grande Cuvée brut.

1. Platz Rosé Sekt
1. Platz Rosé Sekt

Der Sieg in der Kategorie Sortenvielfalt geht an eine eher in Österreich beheimatete Rebsorte: der 2019 Grüner Veltliner brut vom Weingut Hammel aus Kirchheim (Pfalz) gewinnt den ersten Platz.

1. Platz trockene Sekte
1. Platz trockene Sekte
Sparkling Wine Collection of the Year 2021

Griesel Sekt, die in den vergangenen Jahren eine mehr als beeindruckende Entwicklung seit Gründung im Jahr 2013 aufgezeigt haben, gewinnt erstmalig die Auszeichnung „Sektkollektion des Jahres“, ganz dicht gefolgt vom Sekthaus Raumland. Beide Sekterzeuger haben im Schnitt über 92 Punkte für ihre Sekte erhalten.

Christian Wolf, Director Degustation
Christian Wolf, Director Degustation

Deutscher Sekt aus traditioneller Flaschengärung ist heute eines der Aushängeschilder der deutschen Winzer und Sektmacher. Was wir in diesem Jahr verkosten durften zeigt deutlich, dass der Griff auf der Suche nach einem hervorragenden Sekt gerne nach Deutschland gehen kann. Heimische Erzeuger schaffen es par excellence eine stilistische Vielfalt anzubieten, unabhängig davon ob es der Prestige Burgunder Sekt, der Rosé Sekt oder der primärfruchtige Riesling Sekt ist.

Christian Wolf
Director Degustation

Alle ausgezeichneten Sekte sowie weitere Informationen zum siebten Meiningers Deutscher Sektpreis finden Sie auf den folgenden Seiten. Die Erstplatzierten sowie die Top 100 der besten deutschen Sekte aus traditioneller Flaschengärung stellt Meiningers Weinwelt in der nächsten Ausgabe vor, die Mitte September erscheint.

Die Sieger von Meiningers Deutscher Sektpreis stellen auch in diesem Jahr Verkostungsleiter Christian Wolf und Sascha Speicher, Chefredakteur meiningers sommelier, online vor:

Alle Weine anzeigen // Show all wines