Best of Riesling
Best of Riesling

Welcome to Meiningers Best of Riesling


>> Register your wines here <<

The international Best of Riesling competition has been on the market since 2000 - a true perennial favourite with "probably the largest Riesling sample in the world".

The competition looks back on a long history. It is firmly anchored in the wine industry and among the interested public as the Riesling World Championship.

Like no other grape variety, Riesling reflects the special character of the respective vintage, the terroir and the signature of its winery. Such a wine is not just a luxury food, it tells the story of a year - and just as every year is different, so is the Riesling. The diversity of the vineyards, the climatic conditions as well as the philosophies of the winegrowers are expressed in an overwhelming variety of Riesling wines. Anyone who thinks they know Riesling is mistaken: Riesling is definitely one of those grape varieties that never gets boring and can reliably surprise. Riesling delights with the enormous range of wines it is capable of producing. 


Category I: Riesling dry (with moderate alcohol content)
Category II: Single Vineyard Riesling dry (with moderate alcohol content)
Category III: Riesling dry
Category IV: Single Vineyard Riesling dry
Category V: Riesling medium dry/off dry 
Category VI: Riesling sweet 
Category VII: Riesling noble sweet
Category VIII: Riesling mature (Vintage 2015 and older)


In each category, the first to third place winners will be awarded. In addition, you have the possibility to award medals with your received score (from 87 points). This score can be referred to in the equipment, as it is an officially recognised competition.

Additional Award:

Riesling Collection of the Year

Best of Riesling Special Award:

Best Dry Steep Slope Riesling
Best Dry New World Riesling
Best Dry European Riesling
Best Dry Riesling in Food Retailers



Best of Riesling - the medals
Best of Riesling - the medals