Meininger's writer wins prestigious Louis Roederer award

Wednesday, 5. September 2018 - 14:00

Meininger’s contributor Simon Woolf has won the Domaine Ott International Feature Writer of the Year 2018 category of the Louis Roederer international Wine Writers’ Awards 2018 (LRIWWA).

Woolf is well-known as a writer on natural, organic, biodynamic and artisan wine. For Meininger’s, he has contributed a series of in-depth articles on wide-ranging topics from the problem of mousiness, to explorations of Amsterdam’s natural wine scene, to an in-depth piece on the state of the Georgian wine industry. He is also the founder and editor of and has contributed to many other magazines, and recently launched his book Amber Revolution, which traces the history and modern rise of orange wines.

The LRIWWA, now in its fourteenth year, attracts entries from across the globe, with more than 600 entries this year.

Guy Woodward won Mazzei International Wine Columnist of the Year; Tim Atkin MW won the Ramos Pinot Online Communicator 2018; Nina Caplan won the Domanie Faiveley International Wine Book of the Year 2018 for her book The Wandering Vine; Kelli White won the Chairman’s Award; Dan Keeling won the Pio Cesare Food and Wine Writer of the Year 2018; Hannah Fuellenkemper won the Champagne Louis Roederer Emerging Wine Writer of the Year 2018 and Adrian Lander won Champagne Louis Roederer Artistry of Wine Award 2018.

Meininger’s writer Robert Joseph’s provocative weekly columns saw him shortlisted for the Wine Columnist of the Year Award; contributor Michael Fridjhon was also shortlisted for the Wine Columnist award, and editor-in-chief Felicity Carter was shortlisted for the International Feature Writer of the Year.