MUNDUS VINI Spring Tasting 2020: Results


Wednesday, 26. February 2020 - 15:00


Australia number one in overseas category // Kilikanoon Wines once again the best Australian winery // Over 330 award-winning wines

The results are in for the 26th Grand International Wine Award MUNDUS VINI: the most successful Australian winery is Kilikanoon Wines with 19 medals (2 Grand Gold, 13 Gold and 4 Silver), making it the frontrunner in the competition for the second year in a row. This year’s best Argentinian winery is the Gruppo Peñaflor, whose wines were awarded 8 Gold and 3 Silver medals.

Among around 330 award-winning wines from overseas, Australia came out top with 72 medals (3 Grand Gold, 48 Gold, 21 Silver), followed by South Africa with 55 medals (34 Gold, 21 Silver) and Argentina with 49 medals (1 Grand Gold, 30 Gold, 18 Silver). Chile came in fourth place with 48 medals, while China ranked fifth with 37 medals.

Christian Wolf, Director Degustation, MUNDUS VINI: “Once again, it was exciting to see how the new vintage would be showcased. The Spring Tasting is a good indicator of the quality of the wines coming onto the market. We can see purely by the figures and the feedback from our tasters that the level of quality has risen considerably this year. We were positively impressed again with the wines from Eastern Europe, especially the frontrunner Moldova. Although traditional wine-producing countries are still leading the way, the variety of high- to premium-quality countries of origin is set to increase significantly.”

In the unofficial country competition for the best quality wines, Italy once again came out top with 658 medals (4 Grand Gold, 321 Gold, 333 Silver) and thus the most awards. Spain came in a close second with 631 awards (9 Grand Gold, 344 Gold, 278 Silver), while France ranked third with 325 medals (6 Grand Gold, 170 Gold and 149 Silver). This was followed by Portugal with 286 medals and Germany with 239 awards.

268 wine experts from 54 countries gathered at the six-day tasting to blind-taste and assess around 7,500 wines from 45 countries. The competition ran from 18 to 23 February in Neustadt an der Weinstrasse.

Around 650 of the award-winning wines at the MUNDUS VINI Spring Tasting will be presented to trade visitors at the world’s largest trade fair for wines and spirits, ProWein in Düsseldorf, from 15 to 17 March 2020. On the first day of the trade fair, the Board of MUNDUS VINI will hold an awards-ceremony in honour of wine producers whose wines have received a special award.

The best overseas wines include the 2016 Kilikanoon Oracle Shiraz (Best of Show, Australia red), the 2018 Jaraman Chardonnay (Best of Show, Australia white), the 2016 De Wetshof Estate The Site Chardonnay (Best of Show, South Africa white), the 2016 Kleine Zalze Family Reserve Shiraz (Best of Show, South Africa red) and the 2015 Felipe Staiti Honor (Best of Show, Argentina).

All of the results of the Spring Tasting are available now at MEININGER ONLINE:

MUNDUS VINI was founded 19 years ago by the Meininger Verlag, and from the beginning has been one of the most important wine competitions in the world. The 12,000 wines that are submitted every year are clear proof of the importance this competition has now achieved in Germany and all over the world. They are evaluated using the 100-point system of the International Organisation of Vine and Wine (OIV). Only the top 40 per cent of wines submitted to the competition receive medals for their quality. This underscores the exclusivity of the MUNDUS VINI medals as well as the professionalism and uniqueness of the event itself. The Wine Award process takes place twice a year, in spring and late summer. Initiator of MUNDUS VINI is the publishing company Meininger Verlag, which specialises in trade journals for the wine industry.

Press contact:
Sigrid Eck
Hartmut Schultz Kommunikation GmbH
Höchlstraße 2
D-81675 München
Tel: +49 (0)89 99 24 96 26
Mobil: +49 (0)152 215 93 427
E-Mail: [email protected]


Press pictures

impression/credits: © AD LUMINA, Ralf Ziegler
high class expert jury/credits: © AD LUMINA, Ralf Ziegler
impression 2/credits: © AD LUMINA, Ralf Ziegler
impression 3/credits: © AD LUMINA, Ralf Ziegler
jury member Tinashe Nyamudoka/credits: © AD LUMINA, Ralf Ziegler