Logo
Logo

Welcome to

Meininger´s International Craft Beer Award

Meininger's International Craft Beer Award is a unique competition for beer. We have transferred the enormous wealth of experience from 50 years of wine and spirits tasting to beer, taken into account the special features of each individual style and said goodbye to the schemes we have been familiar with up to now. In this way, we have developed a system that not only results in medal awards, but also evaluates and describes the beers individually, thus enabling direct comparison with other beers and providing detailed feedback to all brewers.

Meininger's International Craft Beer Award is thus much more than just one competition among many in which beers are awarded prizes; it has become an industry event, a communication platform, an institution for comparison with other beers, a kind of benchmarking.

Starting in 2021, we have decided to break new ground with the Craft Beer Award in 2021. Instead of selecting the best national and international beer specialities within the framework of a single, multi-day tasting, we will switch to monthly, theme-specific tastings and awards. From our point of view, this approach offers several other advantages for all participating breweries in addition to the all-important planning security:
• For the first time, seasonal beer styles (e.g. Maibock, Summer Ales, Grünhopbier) can be tasted fresh and at the appropriate time of year. Winning beers are thus marketed with pinpoint accuracy.
• The monthly awards provide the breweries with repeated occasions during the year to communicate with their customers and the press.
• The permanent media presence of the Craft Beer Award strengthens the brand and thus increases the value of an award.

Hand in hand with this new orientation is the significantly expanded communication strategy, which guarantees even more awareness and benefits for the participants of the Craft Beer Awards.

The new marketing tools include:

• monthly, high-reach online award ceremonies (successfully implemented for the first time for the Craft Beer Award 2020)
• intensive editorial support of the tastings in the various trade magazines of Meininger Verlag, above all in Meininger's CRAFT, plus presence in FIZZZ, Getränke Zeitung, Meininger's Sommelier, etc.
• permanent reporting via the new Craft Beer Awards website and the strong social media channels

Despite all the changes, however, you can rely on important constants: the highly professional analysis, description and evaluation of your beer by proven experts in the field and - associated with this - detailed sensory feedback that enables benchmarking.

We look forward to tasting and evaluating your beer specialities and presenting the best beers to beer connoisseurs all over the world in an even broader and more public way!

 

Tasting at a Glance
Tasting at a Glance
So läuft die Verkostung

The registered beers are divided into jury groups, each consisting of five to seven tasters. Chaired by a jury president, the group tastes the beers in thematically related flights. In contrast to other awards, however, the approach is not comparative (which beer from the series is the best?), but each beer is tasted and evaluated individually. This singular approach has proven its worth, as it gives each individual beer the attention it deserves.

In addition to the Rastal Teku tasting glasses per jury member, each beer is served in a special optic glass to assess appearance and foam behaviour. Each jury member evaluates the beers in terms of appearance, aroma, taste as well as overall impression in a 100-point scheme. In addition, and this is another special feature of the competition, the beers are described aromatically.

This descriptive analysis is carried out in 21 individually defined attributes for each beer category. The descriptions culminate in a spider's web diagram for each beer, which shows the respective flavour profile at a glance. Added value for brewers and consumers.

Auszeichnungen

The participating beers with the highest score in each category will be awarded the well-known and sales-promoting Craft Beer Award medals: Platinum, Gold and Silver.

Additional awards are:

Craft Beer of the Year national / international

Craft Brewer of the Year national / international

The best beer from each category

 

medals
medals
Bild
Meiningers International Craft Beer Award

Logo
Logo

Herzlich Willkommen bei

Meininger´s International Craft Beer Award

Meininger´s International Craft Beer Award ist ein für Bier einzigartiger Wettbewerb. Den enormen Erfahrungsschatz aus 50 Jahren Wein- und Spirituosenverkostung haben wir auf Bier übertragen, die Besonderheiten jedes einzelnen Stils berücksichtigt und uns von den bekannten uns bisher gängigen Schemata verabschiedet. Auf diese Weise haben wir ein System entwickelt, das nicht nur in Medaillen-Auszeichnungen mündet, sondern die Biere individuell bewertet und beschreibt, somit den direkten Vergleich mit anderen Bieren ermöglicht und allen Brauern detailliertes Feedback gibt.

Damit ist Meininger´s International Craft Beer Award weit mehr als nur ein Wettbewerb unter vielen, bei denen Biere ausgezeichnet werden, er ist zum Branchentreff, zur Kommunikationsplattform, zur Institution für den Vergleich mit anderen Bieren, zu einer Art Benchmarking geworden.

Ab dem Jahr 2021 haben wir uns dazu entschlossen, mit dem Craft Beer Award im Jahr 2021 neue Wege zu beschreiten. Statt die besten nationalen und internationalen Bierspezialitäten im Rahmen einer einzigen, mehrtägigen Verkostung zu küren, wechseln wir auf monatliche, themenspezifische Verkostungen und Prämierungen. Dieses Vorgehen bietet aus unserer Sicht neben der so wichtigen Planungssicherheit auch einige weitere Vorteile für alle teilnehmenden Brauereien:
• Erstmals können saisonale Bierstile (z.B. Maibock, Summer Ales, Grünhopfenbier) frisch und zur passenden Jahreszeit verkostet werden. Siegreiche Biere gehen so punktgenau in die Vermarktung.
• Die monatlichen Prämierungen liefern den Brauereien unterjährig wiederholt Anlässe, mit ihren Kunden und der Presse zu kommunizieren.
• Die dauerhafte mediale Präsenz des Craft Beer Awards stärkt die Marke und erhöht somit die Wertigkeit einer Auszeichnung.

 

Hand in Hand mit dieser Neuausrichtung geht die deutlich ausgeweitete Kommunikationsstrategie, die den Teilnehmern des Craft Beer Awards noch mehr Bekanntheit und Nutzen garantiert.

Zu den neuen Marketingtools zählen:

• monatliche, reichweitenstarke Online-Preisverleihungen (erstmals erfolgreich umgesetzt für den Craft Beer Award 2020)
• intensive redaktionelle Begleitung der Verkostungen in den verschiedenen Fachmagazinen des Meininger Verlags, vor allem in Meiningers CRAFT, dazu Präsenz in FIZZZ, Getränke Zeitung, Meiningers Sommelier etc.
• permanente Berichterstattung über den neuen Internetauftritt des Craft Beer Awards und die starken Social-Media-Kanäle

 

Bei aller Veränderung können Sie sich jedoch auf wichtige Konstanten verlassen: auf die hochprofessionelle Analyse, Beschreibung und Bewertung Ihres Bieres durch ausgewiesene Fachexperten und – damit verbunden – eine detaillierte sensorische Rückmeldung, die Benchmarking ermöglicht.

Wir freuen uns, Ihre Bierspezialitäten verkosten und bewerten zu dürfen und die besten Biere noch breiter und öffentlichkeitswirksamer den Biergenießern in aller Welt vorzustellen!

 

Verkostungen im Überblick
Verkostungen im Überblick
So läuft die Verkostung

Die angemeldeten Biere werden auf Jurygruppen verteilt, die jeweils aus fünf bis sieben Verkostern bestehen. Unter Vorsitz eines Jurypräsidenten verkostet die Gruppe die Biere in thematisch zusammenhängenden Flights. Im Gegensatz zu anderen Awards wird hierbei jedoch nicht vergleichend vorgegangen (Welches Bier aus der Reihe ist das Beste?), sondern jedes Bier wird einzeln verkostet und bewertet. Dieses singuläre Vorgehen hat sich bewährt, da so jedem einzelnen Bier die ihm gebührende Aufmerksamkeit zuteil wird.

Zusätzlich zu den Rastal-Teku-Degustationsgläsern pro Jurymitglied wird jedes Bier in einem speziellen Optik-Glas serviert, um Aussehen und Schaumverhalten bewerten zu können. Jedes Jurymitglied bewertet die Biere hinsichtlich Optik, Geruch, Geschmack sowie Gesamteindruck in einem 100-Punkte-Schema. Ergänzend, und das ist eine weitere Besonderheit des Wettbewerbs, werden die Biere aromatisch beschrieben.

Diese deskriptive Analyse erfolgt in 21 für jede Bierkategorie individuell definierten Attributen. Die Beschreibungen münden je Bier in einem Spinnennetzdiagramm, das auf einen Blick das jeweilige Flavour-Profil wiedergibt. Ein Mehrwert für Brauer und Endkonsumenten.

Auszeichnungen

Die teilnehmenden Biere mit der höchsten Punktzahl in der jeweiligen Kategorie werden ausgezeichnet mit den bekannten und absatzfördernden Craft Beer Award Medaillen: Platin, Gold und Silber.

Zusätzliche Auszeichnungen sind:

Craft Beer des Jahres national / international

Craft-Brauer des Jahres national / international

Bestes Bier in seiner Kategorie

 

Medaillen
Medaillen